The BTU's Committee of Political Education / Teachers in Government and Education Reform (COPE-TIGER) evaluates candidates for office and offers endorsements of those candidates whose platform and philosophies favor education and educators.

Below are the endorsements for the 2016 election.

Primary Voting Day is August 30.

Florida Senate District 34 Gwyndolen Clarke-Reed
  Gary Farmer
  James Waldman
Florida House District 92 Sajan Kurian
Florida House District 93 Ken Keechl
Florida House District 95 Anika Omphroy
Florida House District 104 Richard Stark
Broward County  
     Clerk of the Courts Mitch Ceasar
     Property Appraiser Martin Kiar
     Supervisor of Elections David Gilbert Brown
     Commission District 1 Nan H. Rich
     Commission District 3 Michael Udine
     Commission District 5 Steven Anthony Geller
     Commission District 9 Dale V.C. Holness
     Commission District 9 Christopher Smith
Broward County School Board  
     District 2 Patricia Good
     District 5 Nathalie Ingrid Lynch-Walsh
     District 9 Robin Bartleman
City of Sunrise Mayor Mike Ryan