Meet the Team

Introducing the fiercest force for workers’ rights: the hardest fighting Union in the country. With unwavering determination and relentless advocacy, this Union stands as a beacon of strength and solidarity, championing the rights and well-being of workers across industries. Join us in the fight for fair wages, safe working conditions, and dignity in the workplace. Together, we are unstoppable.

Executive Officers

BTU President

 

1st Vice President

ESP Vice President

BTU Treasurer

BTU Secretary

BTU Field Representatives

A BTU Field Representative’s primary responsibility is to advocate for, organize and protect members’ collective bargaining rights by resolving workplace issues and concerns. This is done by 1) answering questions and addressing concerns, 2) filing grievances and representing members at arbitrations, legislative board meetings and administrative hearings.

Ed Farrell

Field Staff Representative

efarrell@btuonline.com
954-486-6250 Ext. 1681

Kenny Minchew

Field Staff Representative

kminchew@btuonline.com
954-486-6250 Ext. 1689

Shafeza Moonab

Field Representative

smoonab@btuonline.com
954-486-6250 Ext. 1686

Terry Lopez Preuss

Field Representative

tpreuss@btuonline.com
954-486-6250 Ext. 1665

Liliana Ruido

Field Representative

lruido@btuonline.com
954-486-6250 Ext. 1665

BTU STAFF

Barbara Cavazzi

Receptionist
bcavazzi@btuonline.com
954-900-1661

Holly Corless

Database Manager
hcorless@btuonline.com
954-900-1668

Shannon D'Avi

Administrative Assistant
sdavi@btuonline.com
954-900-1672

Claudia Delatorre

Bookkeeper
bookkeeper@btuonline.com
954-900-1667

Jennifer Gottlieb

Political Director
jgottlieb@btuonline.com
954-900-1692

Carol Hertz

Co-Director of Communications
cherz@btuonline.com
954-900-1666

Joshua Jamieson

Organizer
jjamieson@btuonline.com
954-900-1678

Paula Jostad

Administrative Assistant
pjostad@btuonline.com
954900-1671

Jennifer Reeves

Accountant-CPA
jreeves@btuonline.com
954-900-1667

Liliana Ruido

Membership Outreach
lruido@btuonline.com
954-900-1665

Daina Sanders

Chief of Staff
dsanders@btuonline.com
954-900-1683

July 01, 2023 – June 30, 2027

Executive Board

Melanie Birken (At Large) 

Social Worker
Student Services

Maria Caccavale (EP D) 

Flamingo Elementary

Deborah Corriveau (At Large) 

954-290-4504
Griffin Elementary

           Kelly De Varona

754-323-5400
Davie Elementary

Irene Duran (EP D)

Hollywood Hills Elementary
754-323-6200

Carol Fischer (Retired)

Retirees President
954-964-3300 

Carolyn Flanagan (At Large)

South Plantation High
754-322-1950

Patricia Gaines (ESP D)

Dillard Elementary
754-322-6200

Nympha Girard (At Large)

Plantation High
754-322-1850

Rebecca Goodballet (EP D)

Orangebrook Elementary
754-322-1850

Alan Jablonowitz (At Large)

Maplewood Elementary
754-322-6850

Penny Oppenheim (At Large)

Stranahan High
754-323-2100

Liliana Ruido (EP D)

BTU
954-486-6250

Danielle Savage (EP D)

Stirling Elementary
754-323-7600

Katrina Whittaker (At Large)

Seagull School
754-321-7300