The BTU's Committee of Political Education / Teachers in Government and Education Reform (COPE-TIGER) evaluates candidates for office and offers endorsements of those candidates whose platform and philosophies favor education and educators. Below are the endorsements for the 2018 primary election.

Primary Voting Day is August 28, 2018.

Broward County School Board  
District 1 Jim Silvernale District 7 Nora Rupert
District 6 Laurie Rich Levinson District 8 Donna Pilger Korn
1/2 Mil Referendum — YES
US Congress
District 20 Alcee L Hastings District 24 Frederica Wilson
District 22 Ted Deutch    
State Representatives
District 92 Patricia Hawkins-Williams District 98 Michael A. Gottlieb
District 96 Kristin D. Jacobs District 103 Rick Tapia
District 97 Jared Evan Moskowitz District 105 Ross Hancock
State Senate Florida Government
District 34 Gary Farmer Attorney General Sean Shaw
Judicial - Circuit 17 County Court
Group 8 Ernest Albert Kollra Group 9 Tanner Channing Demmery
Group 36 Kristin Weisberg Padowitz Group 10 Robert F. "Bob" Diaz
Group 38 Melissa Minsk Donoho Group 17 Michael Davis
Group 39 Camille Coolidge-Shotwell Group 19 Allison Gilman
Group 42 Michael Usan Group 19 John "Jack" Phillips
Group 43 Dan Casey Group 19 Jackie Powell 
Group 46 H. James Curry Group 25 Robert W. Lee
County Commission  
District 2 Mark D Bogen District 6 Quentin "Beam" Furr
District 2 Ryan J Ross